Christine's Health Blog

Chronicles of Healthy Living

A Slight Gain 02/22/2015

Filed under: Diet,Weigh-ins — Christine Rice @ 8:22 AM
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Whenever I get below my goal weight, I think I can increase the amount of food I eat (i.e. eat however much I want), but then I end up gaining a few pounds the following month. So I believe the scale is not helping me at this point. It is not helping me to listen to my body and eat a normal amount at all times. It’s messing with my mind by changing how much I think I should eat.

So I got to 2.5 pounds below my goal weight (after a gain of course) and then I gradually increased the amount of eggs and bacon/sausage I ate at breakfast (which are very high in calories in case you didn’t know) every day, until I was eating double a normal amount.

So from this, I gained 3 pounds the month before last, but I continued overeating, thinking my weight would stabilize at that amount. But suddenly I got smart and realized that some of my portions were just way too big. So I’ve slowly cut back my portions the last week or two and I’m back to a normal amount of food again.

So I only gained 1 pound this last month (weigh-in was yesterday). I think I gained more during the month and then lost some when I reduced my portions, because my clothes are starting to fit better again. So I’m actually happy about the 1 pound gain, since I know it would have been more if I hadn’t changed my eating.

So I plan on continuing to eat my new normal amount, weigh-in once more in one month to make sure I’m heading in the right direction, and then give up the scale. Apparently, weighing myself is not a good thing anymore. I will only get weighed at the doctor’s office when I go.

I easily get obsessed with the scale, so I think it’s a good thing to give it up. How my clothes fit will tell me how I’m doing.

Have you banished the scale? If so, how did you do it? How long has it been since you weighed yourself?